Scientific Programme Scientific Programme

Download the scientific programme of the 4th HBP School - Future Computing.



Confirmed Speakers Confirmed Speakers

  • Karlheinz Meier: The era of cognitive computing
    Heidelberg University, Germany


  • Erwin Laure: High-performance computing
    KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden


  • Mihai Petrovici: Principles of brain computation; Theory tutorial
    University of Bern, Switzerland; Heidelberg University, Germany


  • Eric Müller: Python tutorial
    Heidelberg University, Germany


  • Giacomo Indiveri: Neuromorphic computing
    ETH Zürich, Switzerland


  • Sašo Džeroski: Machine learning
    Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia


  • Thomas Heinis: Databases and cloud
    Imperial College London, United Kingdom


  • Sebastian Billaudelle, Korbinian Schreiber: BrainScaleS tutorial
    Heidelberg University


  • David Lester, Alan Stokes, Oliver Rhodes: SpiNNaker tutorial
    University of Manchester, United Kingdom


  • Dan Nilsson: The eye and the visual system
    Lund University, Sweden


  • Gordon Cheng: Robotics
    Technical University of Munich, Germany


Participation criteria Participation criteria

Application for the 4th HBP School was open to the whole student community and early post-docs. Approx. 40 participants were selected in a competitive application process based on an academic decision by the scientific director. 
Participants were required to submit an abstract on their current research with their application. 

Applications from young female investigators were highly encouraged.

There was no registration fee. Accommodation was provided.
Seven travel grants were available upon request (European students only - residence).